Busy, busy, busy!

There hasn’t been much activity on this blog for some time. I’ve been getting ready to move – as I’ve been accepted into the European Union’s Erasmus program, I will be moving to Edinburgh for a year in the first week of September.

I’m nervous. And excited. But mostly, busy. I’ve been struggling with official websites that for some ungodly reason hide the exact information you need in the deepest, darkest recesses of their websites, and filled out form after official form just to make sure my home university would accept my year abroad.

The Danish ministries of Education and Science have openly endorsed sending students abroad. They talk about brainpower, broadening horizons, bringing home internationally educated students that will propel the Danish business and science sectors forward. I don’t really identify with any of that, probably because I’m an Arts and Humanities student.

For the past year or so I’ve been so worried about, and focused on, my year abroad that it came to feel more important than my year here. Now, that the leaving date is rapidly nearing I can’t stop worrying about what will happen after I’m done.

Basically, I can’t wait to be in Edinburgh because then it will feel real.

I’d like to promise more activity on this blog, but I hate making promises I can’t keep, so consider this blog on a sort of semi-hiatus. I won’t stop posting, but I don’t know how much and how often.

ETA: I went to France (and Paris) over the summer, and actually made it to Versailles this time, so if my family ever uploads the pictures they took (my camera was left at home by mistake), I’ll be sure to share them here 🙂 It was a fantastic visit, specifically the fashion exhibit at Le Grand Trianon that we weren’t allowed to photograph. It had rococo-inspired clothes designed by people like Vivienne Westwood, Karl Lagerfeld for Chanel and Yves Saint Laurent. Fabulously fantastic!

Anyway, here’s a beautiful picture by Alphonse Mucha that I really like. I actually really like most things Alphonse Mucha (and generally anything Jugend).

Leave a Reply

