The future of this blog

I don’t know what to do with this blog at the moment. It seems that during a week like the last where I’ve managed to post every day, I get the least page views. On top of that I’m not keeping up with my writing and this blog was intended to serve as a scrapbook for information I needed in my writing.

The future of this blog looks uncertain  at best. I’m considering deleting, but then again, I’ve worked hard at these posts. I’m considering simply leaving it as it is, but that feels silly. Why have a blog if you’re not going to do anything about it?

So I’m giving this blog a month and if at the end of February I’ve made a decision I’ll let you know and then proceed to either delete it or leave it alone.

That’s really all.

This entry was posted in About.

3 comments on “The future of this blog

  1. Claire-Marie says:

    Hello!
    I hope you didn’t give up this blog because I need your help!
    I’m just a french woman who loves history and who have discovered queen Caroline Mathild’s story.
    She had a short but interresting life. I’ve seen on french TV a documentary telling her story. It was a 2010 danish documentary.
    During this film, I saw a painting showing the queen dressed like a man. I’m so amazed by this picture that I’d like to have it. Unfortunatly, my searches on internet failed and I didn’t have the time to note who its author was.
    Do you know this painting? She wears a red jacket and white trousers. (sorry I use the modern words for those pieces of clothing) Maybe your very great knowledges about this subject will allow you to help me.
    Sorry for my horrible english.
    Hope to read you soon.
    Best regards,
    Claire-Marie

    PS: feel free to use my e-mail adress, of course!

    • historiful says:

      I don’t think I’ll abandon this blog after all, but it may be a while before I get back into blogging.

      I’ve found two paintings/caricatures you may be able to use, but the one I think you were looking for isn’t in colour. Is it this one? http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e1/Caroline_Mathilde_i_milit%C3%A6runiform.jpg
      I also found this one which is in colour and is a contemporary caricature of the queen in man’s clothes and the king in a bonnet and gown. http://enganghistoriskformidling.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/cm.jpg

      I hope that was what you were searching for, and if not, let me know and I’ll try and help you again!

      • Claire-Marie says:

        You found it! You ARE GREAT!!! lol

        The first one is the one I saw during the film. I find it very interresting and it was seen as scandalous! She rode like a man and not sidesaddle, like a woman. She had an affair with her crazy husband’s doctor, learned about the philosophie des lumières (voltaire, rousseau…) and finished her life banished because of her adultery. What is nice is that the daughter she had with her lover became a legitimized…

        But you certainly already know all those things, sorry…

        I tried on wikipedia even in english but I didn’t find the painting… Well, it’s certainly due to my age… When I was a student, we don’t have pc to help us and I studied law…that’s maybe why I’m not good at finding paintings! lol
        BTW, thank you very much for your help. I look forward to read your next post. I “follow” your blog.
        Read you soon!
        Claire-Marie

Leave a Reply

