Aristocratic Decadence

Princess Yvonne and Prince Alexander, 1955

I can’t find that much info on these two. One description of this photo names Alexander as a Prince of Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn, a placename that could only come out of a Germany. I would love to see pictures of them as adults, but alas, google is being fairly disobliging right now.

Doesn’t it just scream aristocratic decadence? I wonder what the photographer was thinking of these two.

4 comments on “Aristocratic Decadence

  1. Anne says:

    Hi. I really like your blog. I find it very interesting and informative. I don’t know if you have come across this or not but I saw this very picture on another blog last year. The author spoke about the children and their family as well. Here is the link http://www.andrewcusack.com/2011/02/14/mamarazza/

    Thanks for all your work. keep it up!

    Anne

  2. Kati says:

    There is also a Wikipedia-Article with a picture of Alexander as an adult: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexander,_Prince_zu_Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn
    Your blog is great, by the way. I found it today and I love it.

  3. Pete from Baltimore says:

    Great photo! Apparently Prince Alexander was born in 1943. So he would have been 12 years old in this photo

Leave a Reply

